Archive for November, 2009

29 Nov – UCC Results

Posted by ian on November 29th, 2009

Showing no fear, 18 brave Go players battled through the floods, sea serpents, and raging winds to enjoy a weekend of Go in Cork. Although local hero Wei Wang dropped a point this time, he still emerged winner on MMS. Following closely behind were Tong-Yu Cao and Kim Ouleween, the latter visiting from the Netherlands […]

Nov 28 – Irish Championship Finals

Posted by ian on November 28th, 2009

After two games this week, both played on KGS, Claas Roever and Ian Davis are all square at 1 win apiece. Ian won the first game playing Black, while Claas leveled with Black in the next game. The deciding game should take place next week.

17 Nov – Top 8 Playoffs

Posted by ian on November 17th, 2009

Claas and Noel played on KGS last night to see who joined Ian in the Irish Championship final. Noel, playing white, recovered well from something of a poor start. However, he was unable to catch up with Claas, who finished 4.5 points ahead after a rough game. This year’s Top 8 results can be reviewed […]

Interprovincials News – 13 Nov

Posted by ian on November 13th, 2009

Ulster and Munster faced off in the Ireland Room on KGS tonight. After a month’s altitude training in Donegal, Ulster’s board 1 soon triumphed. It wasn’t long before boards 2 and 3 followed. Final Score Ulster 3 – Munster 0 Ulster now move through to the finals where they will face the winners of Leinster […]

2009 UCC Open

Posted by Rory Wales on November 2nd, 2009

Details for the UCC Open are now available, see webpage for details. The event will take place on the weekend of the 28/29th November instead of February next year. It will be EGF Class B with 5 rounds.

First Qualifiers for 2010 Top 8 Decided

Posted by eoghan on November 1st, 2009

With Cao Tong-Yu and Claas Roever unable to take their seats at the opening weekend of the 2010 Top 8 tournament (to be held in Dublin over the weekend of 16-17th January), Colin MacSweeny and Michael Thai have joined Ian Davis and Noel Mitchell as the qualifiers from this year’s Top 8. The remaining four […]