AGM Returns Familiar Faces

A sparsely-attended Annual General Meeting was marked by stability in the leadership of the Irish Go Association, with all three officers re-elected unopposed. Niall Tuohy remains as President, assisted by Treasurer John Doyle and Secretary Eoghan Barry. The committee will be made up of Philippe Renaut, James Hutchinson, and Byoung-Ju Lee.

The most contentious item on the agenda was the proposed amendment to the rules of the Top 8, limiting the award of WAGC Points to those competitors eligible to represent Ireland at the World Amateur Go Championship. After some discussion, the amendment was passed by five votes in favour to one against, with two abstentions.

Other business discussed included the prospective return of the Galway tournament (most likely in June), the drafting of a constitution for the Association, a friendship match against Romania, and the purchase of Go sets for resale.

Full minutes of the meeting will be made available in due course.

« »
Powered by Wordpress. Theme design by Niall Tuohy © 2024