The April Rip-Off

Shakespeare noted that “the evil that men do lives after them; the good is oft interred with their bones.” Thus we remember the late John Gibson not for his tireless work for Irish Go, but for his love of rip-offs, trick plays and general iniquity. And what better way to honour that memory than three rounds of bare-knuckle Go in the salubrious environs of the Teachers’ Club?

The 4th April Rip-Off will take place on April 13th, 2024 at the Teachers’ Club, in Dublin’s city centre. The first round will start late enough to accommodate arrivals from Belfast, Cork and Galway (and give Dubliners an extra couple of hours in bed). At the end of the day’s play, we’ll go for dinner in one of the nearby Asian restaurants.

The Nitty-Gritty

Three rounds, McMahon format
Handicap of difference in McMahon Score minus two
Time limit: 45 minutes main time plus overtime of 3 × 30 seconds byo-yomi
Entry Fee: €10 (€5 concession rate) payable on the day
Venue: The Teachers’ Club, 36 Parnell Square West, Dublin 1. (Map)
Prizes: Modest, at best

The Schedule

11.00 Sign-In
11.30 Round 1
14.30 Round 2
16.45 Round 3
20.00 Dinner


Email with your name, entry rank and your EGF PIN (if you have one). Also, let me know if you will come to dinner.

If you just rock up on the day without having registered, don’t expect a warm welcome.

Entry List

James Hutchinson (Belfast, 2d)
Przemek Dyszczyk (Dublin, 2d)
John Courtney (Dublin, 2d)
Marc Stoehr (Stockholm, 1d)
Matei Garcia (Dublin, 1d)
Liu Dewei (Belfast, 1d)
Steve Flinter (Dublin, 1k)
Stephen Nulty (Dublin, 2k)
Peter Kasko (Dublin, 2k)
Eoghan Barry (Dublin, 3k)
Piotr Gawron (Dublin, 3k)
Lee Byoung-Ju (Dublin, 4k)
Niall Tuohy (Dublin, 4k)
Tiberiu Gociu (Belfast, 5k)
Tan Pham Minh Vo (Dublin, 6k)
Matej Duricek (Dublin, 9k)
Larion Syrotkin (no club, 11k)
Lin Yucheng (Dublin, 12k)
Luke McGarvey (Belfast, 12k)
Martin Murphy (no club, 16k)

« »
Powered by Wordpress. Theme design by Niall Tuohy © 2024